• Subscribe RSS
  • Nehra in the squad for West Indies

    After a gap of 45 months, Delhi left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra (72 ODI matches, 92 wickets) has been recalled for the four-match one-day international series to be played against the West Indies at Kingston and Gros Islet from June 26 to July 5.

    Nehra played his last international against New Zealand at Harare in September 2005. His last Test was against Pakistan at Rawalpindi in April 2004.

    The 16 member Indian team for the short series in the West Indies was selected in London after a teleconference between Chairman of the committee K. Srikkanth, Raja Venkat, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coach Gary Kirsten (in London) and three selectors — Yashpal Sharma, Surendhra Bhave and Narendra Hirwani — at the Cricket Centre here.

    Nayar, Badrinath in

    Mumbai left hander Abhishek Nayar has been included in the team. S. Badrinath who has played three one-day internationals against Sri Lanka and opener Murali Vijay (one Test against Australia) are also in the team.

    N. Srinivasan, Secretary, BCCI has said in a press release that Suresh Raina (hairline fracture in his left thumb) was not considered for selection and that the left-hander needs to rest for two weeks.

    Zaheer Khan has also been rested.

    Sachin Tendulkar is not in the squad either as he had requested the BCCI to rest him.

    The team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Murali Vijay, S. Badrinath, R.P. Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Kartik.

    Posted in Labels: |